sofar sounds

Earlier this year I was lucky enough to win tickets to see the lovely Lianne La Havas through War Child’s Passport to BRITs Week. Lianne’s show was organised through Sofar Sounds and the venue was a beautiful living room in Notting Hill. It might just be the best gig I have been to. Everything was stripped back, there was about 40 people sat on the floor in the living room who were transported to musical heaven by the eclectic sounds of pianist and composer, Tokio Myers and the soul-funk melodies by Lianne.

It was through winning these tickets  I discovered Sofar Sounds. The movement is set up by Rafe Offer who has created a wonderful community of artists and music lovers all over the world based on ‘bringing the magic back to live music’. Rae explained to the guests how the movement had launched in London in 2010 with the intention of creating an alternate live music experience. He told us how him and his friends were frustrated being at live music events where the audience talked, texted, or asked for their next drink and where nobody really listened or appreciated the music.

A few weeks ago I decided to apply to some London events to find out what Sofar is really all about. I managed to get myself and a plus one on to a Friday night guestlist and explained to my fellow music loving pal that I had tickets to a ‘secret intimate gig’ and I had no idea who was playing or what genre of music, but that I had pretty good feeling about it.

It is safe to say we were most definitely not disappointed. The gig was held in WeWork’s coworking space in Chancery Lane and we were absorbed in the music from melodic trio New Pharoahs, smooth and soulful Liz Lubega and blusey Broken Wit Rebels. It was a laid-back atmosphere with great music and good vibes.  We even got chatting to a couple of girls next to us (you never chat to strangers in London!).

After attending the gig last week I will most definitely be making my way to more Sofar events. I love the inspiration behind the movement – to create a space for new artists to perform in small, intimate venues where guests can actually appreciate the music and make some friends along the way. What’s better is that it hardly breaks the bank (I paid the recommended £13 for me and a plus one) and is BYOB!

So whatever city you’re in check out the website, apply or reserve your spot at a gig and sit back, relax and listen to the music.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

